Frequent question: Who was the prime minister in 2011 in New Zealand?

‘New Zealand’s darkest day’. Prime Minister John Key addresses the country live on television following the earthquake that devastated Christchurch on 22 February 2011.

Who was in power in 2011 in NZ?

The incumbent National Party, led by John Key, gained the plurality with 47.3% of the party vote and 59 seats, two seats short of holding a majority.

What did Helen Clark do for NZ?

Clark became the second woman to serve as Prime Minister of New Zealand, and the first to have won office at an election. She also served as the Minister for Arts, Culture and Heritage throughout her premiership.

Who was the prime minister of New Zealand?

From Henry Sewell in 1856 to Jacinda Ardern in 2017, New Zealand has had 40 prime ministers and premiers.

When did Jacinda Ardern become prime minister?

After negotiations, New Zealand First chose to enter a minority coalition government with Labour, supported by the Green Party, with Ardern as prime minister. She was sworn in by the Governor-General on 26 October 2017. She became the world’s youngest female head of government at age 37.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Do Scandinavian countries still have kings?

When did John Key become prime minister?

After two years as Leader of the Opposition, Key led his party to victory at the November 2008 general election. He was subsequently sworn in as Prime Minister on 19 November 2008. The National government went on to win two more general elections under his leadership: in November 2011 and September 2014.

Who was prime minister before Helen Clark?

The first female prime minister was Jenny Shipley of the National Party, who replaced Jim Bolger in late 1997; Shipley was succeeded by Helen Clark in 1999.

Was Jenny Shipley voted in?

Dame Jennifer Mary Shipley DNZM PC (née Robson; born 4 February 1952) is a New Zealand former politician who served as the 36th prime minister of New Zealand from 1997 to 1999. … Shipley was elected to Parliament at the 1987 election, winning the Ashburton electorate (later renamed Rakaia).

Is Helen Clark still married to Peter Davis?

Peter Byard Davis (born 25 April 1947) is a New Zealand sociologist, professor, and the husband of Helen Clark, who was the Prime Minister of New Zealand from 1999 to 2008.

Who was prime minister in 1985 NZ?

David Lange was New Zealand’s youngest prime minister of the 20th century. Renowned for his sharp wit and oratory, he led the fourth Labour government from 1984 until 1989.

Who is the Queen of New Zealand?

The Queen of New Zealand’s formal title is: Elizabeth the Second, by the Grace of God, Queen of New Zealand and Her Other Realms and Territories, Head of the Commonwealth, Defender of the Faith.

THIS IS INTERESTING:  Your question: How cold is Denmark in March?

Who became prime minister in 2016?

David Cameron

The Right Honourable David Cameron
Official portrait, 2010
Prime Minister of the United Kingdom
In office 11 May 2010 – 13 July 2016
Monarch Elizabeth II

Who was prime minister in the 1970s?

List of prime ministers

Name Time in office Political party
James Callaghan 1976 – 1979 Labour
Harold Wilson 1974 – 1976 Labour
Edward Heath 1970 – 1974 Conservative
Harold Wilson 1964 – 1970 Labour

Has New Zealand ever had Maori prime minister?

A Māori prime minister

He was the first Māori to win a general rather than a Māori seat; no other Māori MP would do this until 1975. Carroll’s central place in the Liberal party in the 20th century was recognised when he became acting prime minister in 1909 and 1911. He was the first Māori to hold that position.

When was Muldoon prime minister?

Sir Robert David Muldoon GCMG CH PC (/mʌlˈduːn/; 25 September 1921 – 5 August 1992) was a New Zealand politician who served as the 31st prime minister of New Zealand, from 1975 to 1984, while leader of the National Party.